Full Circle

And just like that, it is accomplished. It’s funny how things turn out … a year ago I was raiding Ulduar on Karius with Crits, and Kaly and Rossini were still getting to 80. Today, all three are Kingslayers.

Friday night we headed into ICC in Analogue and Reversion’s hand-picked raid team. We had a few adjustments to the lineup as work and the military claimed two of our members for this week.  I’ll leave the details of the first 11 bosses up to their blog, because Analogue wrote up a nice post yesterday that you all should visit.

Saturday night we finished off BQL on Heroic and Sindragosa on regular … one shots both. Then it was up to the Frozen Throne to face the Lich King himself. There were some learning pains … dpsing the fight on a mage, needless to say, is quite a bit different than tanking it on a DK. Once we got communication about little details like, say, taking out the orbs during the transition phases, things started to click nicely.

One thing that I definitely did not get to experience when solo tanking him was getting absorbed into Frostmourne. Karius got sucked in a couple of times though. Pretty darn cool!

The first time we made phase three, there were vile spirits all over the place. I had NO clue what we were supposed to do about them. Kar had never made it to phase three before! The second time, well, I remembered reading something about AoEing them down, but that didn’t work at all. So the third time, I just single targeted and blew them up as fast as I could. We’re going along on that try and I’m switching back and forth between the king and the spirits, moving for defiles, and as he starts to spew forth another set of spirits I see his health is at 12%. OMG. I popped everything and ignored the spirits, and might have said ‘burn him’ over vent, I don’t remember for sure, I just know that I got super excited because I knew we were going to do it.

Tirion, Terenas … it’s on you guys now. Help us out, yo!

Getting everyone to line up right for screenshots is nigh impossible. Analogue’s shot turned out much better than mine, but I’m posting a couple anyway.

Let’s see if I can identify everyone. Analogue and Rossini are standing almost on top of each other on the left there, and that’s Falahla in front of the dancing bear Reversion. Then we have Ado, the dwarf Shananagan, and the dancing draenei Pallypk. Questfinder is standing just behind my shoulder, and that fel dude trying to steal the limelight is Shaatom. I’m afraid to ask why he’s clear over there instead of with Rossini.

One more because demon form is awesome. Also, Drizzle hid herself somehow in that last shot. She’s on the far left in this one.

Getting Kingslayer on Karius is exciting enough, but getting it with these people is just …. too great. I know it’s hard to see in those old screenshots from a year ago, but Ado and Falahla were there, and Elgar too. Questfinder, man, I remember when he was leveling through Outland and so was I … I helped him with some group quests a few times. I mean, these are people that have been in the guild since I first rolled toons here. I’ve seen them level, and gear up, and learn to raid, and improve their skills through the last year and several months, starting with Naxx and Uldy in those old posts. It just means so much more to me to down a boss with a group of friends. I was starting to burn out on raiding a bit and was to the point of not caring how soon I raid in Cata, but … I’m kinda looking forward to it now.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

22 Responses to “Full Circle”

  1. gromitdaddy Says:

    Wow! Seriously cool! Congrats again!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Analogue Says:

    So glad Karius got to be a Kingslayer – and that you’re excited for Cata raiding, because I need you in our raid. It was truly a great night. I want to get back in there and do it again to get the title for some people – my brother, Reversion’s hunter, whoever is next for you – but it feels so good to finish this expansion on a really high note.

  3. repgrind Says:

    Grom!!! I missed you this weekend. Welcome back. HUGS!!!

    BTW, I have good news and bad news. This post was the good news.

  4. slice213 Says:

    Grats again rep!

  5. ReversionLFM Says:

    Oh man I am so amped for cata raiding. I want to see fights when the are fresh again. I want to try strats until stuff goes down. Heck I even want to try Cruel’s crazy ideas ;D
    Well sometimes. Maybe. 1 tanking lootship was fun though.

  6. repgrind Says:

    LOL. Cruel is a character, isn’t he? I know he frustrates some people, but he’s a good guy and he means well. I have a blast running stuff with him.

  7. Troutwort Says:

    1 crazy idea a month or Shaatom is going to start facepulling. Do not tempt me mortals!

    Also, congrats so much, and yes, this group was amazing, because it was people who had been with us a long time. But at the same time I owe equal thanks to Reversion and Analogue for coordinating.

  8. gromitdaddy Says:

    O. o! Now yoy have me worried! Enough to not want to log on at all so i dont have to hear it. I’m so glad however that kar go kingslayer! I hope though, that sometime soon you guys have enough energy left to help draeth get it :)

  9. gromitdaddy Says:

    You*

  10. repgrind Says:

    Oh, it’s not that bad. I mean, it’s not like serious drama or anything like that. It’s just … well … you see …. it’s Hartbane. /cry

  11. gromitdaddy Says:

    Always remember too, gromdred can nearly always be available to help

  12. gromitdaddy Says:

    Okay, what wrong?

  13. repgrind Says:

    He’s …. a belf.

  14. Troutwort Says:

    Oh, Hartbane changed his character into a woman?

  15. gromitdaddy Says:

    I hope he has the budget for the hair care products!

  16. repgrind Says:

    How can you guys joke about this!! We’ll never get to do a Classic Raid or grind rep with him again. :(

  17. gromitdaddy Says:

    I know. That is sad. Those runs were a lot of fun, and i will miss them. So what was his reason? And is it now even more okay to blame him?

  18. repgrind Says:

    If he was on the same realm, maybe. But there’s not much fun in blaming someone that’s in an entirely different battlegroup. He’s playing with his Army buddies.

    Oh. Yeah. His huntard is still around. Yes, I know. I had to think about it for a minute, too … it’s easy to forget about the toon that HE NEVER PLAYS! lol

  19. lagalot Says:

    orly, what battlegroup?

  20. repgrind Says:

    Retaliation

  21. lagalot Says:

    His name still Heartbane? I’ll sit on him in a bg for ya.

  22. repgrind Says:

    Hartbane, yeah. Underbog.

    Holy pally vs. Resto druid … have fun with that one. The fight might not end before the post-Cataclysm xpac.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

