Up In Arms

After patch 4.0.1 hit, like most everyone else that has a DPS warrior, I put my talents in Fury and then went W.T.F.?!?! when it sucked. It was so bad at that point that a couple of my friends stopped playing their warriors altogether. So I just said the hell with it, respecced arms, and mostly just played with my other toons.

Then buffs were put in. I don’t recall exactly what all the changes were … I’ll be honest, I didn’t really pay attention. I just went about my business, considering the warrior to be my enchanter and not much else, until Matt Rossi rocked my world with this article about how arms is surprisingly viable.

Since reading that, I adjusted my arms spec to match the second build he suggested, and went about running heroics til my eyes bled to get the T10 2 piece bonus. This bonus is absolutely worthless for fury, but super for arms, and I had already decided I was staying arms for good.

The true test came last night, when I stepped into ICC 10. I was wearing the 2 pieces of T10, the friendly Ashen Verdict rep ring, the badge cloak, and the crafted 264 boots. Everything else was iLevel 232 (including two pieces of T9 for the 5% damage boost)  excluding my pants and the other ring that were 245 and my neck that was 226. My trinkets were the Victor’s Call out of ToC10 and that Scorpion thingy out of FoS, and I was wielding a Tyrannical Beheader out of PoS. So basically, decently geared but nowhere near full ICC level gear.

Trash was … amazing. Charge in, rend, thunder clap, sweeping strikes, BLADESTORM!! I did something like 27k on that pack of vengeful fleshreapers at the bottom of the stairs leading up to the plague wing. I pretty much spent the evening gleefully charging from one trash pack to the next. That is one thing as fury that I missed very much. I <3 charge.

Bosses, it just depended on how much movement I had to do. Saurfang is usually a good litmus test for stand-still dps though. I did 8k on him. Mortal Strike and Overpower both hit like a truck. I haven’t stacked crit, yet overpower crit 88.5% in that fight, doing 11-16k a pop. MS hit just as hard, but ‘only’ crit 66% of the time … yeah.

Yes, one of the tanks was a warrior so sunders were always up. That does help. But still … this is arms! It was the not-good-for-raids spec for … well, it’s kinda always been that way, minus a couple of tiers here and there. Will it get nerfed in Cata again? Probably. But for now I’m going to enjoy it.

Tags: , , ,

9 Responses to “Up In Arms”

  1. gromitdaddy Says:

    SWEET!!! Now you just need to run the girls (myste and saph) through a days worth of randoms :D

  2. repgrind Says:

    ? WTF does that have to do with this post? :p

  3. gromitdaddy Says:

    Nothing. But if you’re so OP, it would be easy, right?

  4. repgrind Says:

    I’m DPS. It wouldn’t make your queue shorter, and I can’t solo that stuff. Not to mention, I’m at work during the day when you play them.

  5. Troutwort Says:

    Great job! I wasn’t aware of the unsatisfactory new fury changes. I was going to go fury with my new toon in Cataclysm, I might rethink that. I’ll keep checking in to see what you think of the warrior DPS specs.

  6. repgrind Says:

    Actually, Fury is really awesome again … assuming you have read the latest info and gear/spec correctly. Heck, the title of Rossi’s column today is “Fury demolishes entire cities in 4.0.1″ I just prefer arms. :)

  7. gromitdaddy Says:

    I’m not actually concerned with queue times… Heck, after last week’s 2 1/2 hour wait, what is long? Just finding people who will run with a multiboxer is hard enough (okay, impossible). Really i just think it’s very cool that you can step in with that kind of damage. Makes me feel very noobish.

  8. repgrind Says:

    But Grom … it’s a completely different class. You can’t compare it to your paladin. I can’t get that kind of damage out of my paladin, and his gear is pretty much equivalent. There are people who *can* … I’m not one of them, because I haven’t taken the time to learn it.

  9. gromitdaddy Says:

    I wasn’t comparing it at all… just looking at the numbers you posted, and thinking “That’s Awesome!!!”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

