Plans for Cataclysm

Subtitle: You want to raid what?

All over the place, I see people talking about their plans for Cataclysm. This person is going to get to 85 as fast as possible, that one is going to level Archaeology first, this other one can’t wait to make a gnome priest, another is looking forward to starting a goblin. That is what they are focusing on and are going to do first.

Let me tell you about the things I am looking forward to. But let’s break it into sections, because there are several. Which thing will I focus on and do first? All of them!

Old Toons

I currently have a half dozen toons at max level. Yes, you read that right. I have three on each faction. They only comprise four classes, because I have double mages and double Death Knights. I also have a priest and a warrior in their upper 70’s. This gives me six classes that could all potentially become my first level 85. Am I choosing one now and saying ‘THIS is what I want to level fast and raid on’? No. Am I going to wait for the guild to decide what class they need for raiding and level that one first? Don’t know me very well, do you.

If this past expansion, the first full one I have been around to play from start to finish, taught me nothing else, it taught me that I am not happy just doing one thing. I’m always curious about what another class is like, or another role. Having both factions means I can see the lore and each starting zone on both sides. Two mages? No problem, I can level two different specs and see which I like better. You want to know which toon will be my first to 85? Yeah, so do I! I’d say ‘whichever one I am having the most fun playing’ but … heck even that can change during the course of the game.

New Toons

Not only do we get new races, but we get new race/class combos as well!  I have two open slots saved on my Alliance server for a lock and a shaman … probably a worgen and a dwarf, although that’s not set in stone. I have a druid that will be rerolled as a worgen. That one IS set in stone. That will give me one of each class on that server. (My 39 rogue is currently serving as my bank alt. Why do my rogues always end up as the bank alt?)

I will, of course, try out a gnome to see the starting area, and also a goblin … and a troll. And I heard the Forsaken get some cool new changes to their starting zone lore. And to Silverpine Forest. Do you see where this is going? Do you?? Alts! Lots of them!! Many likely never to make it past level 20, but still …

Professions

Alchemists get to turn into a drake and let a friend ride them! New fishing achievements! New fishing and cooking dailies .. at level 10?! Changes to inscription, the engineering barbeque, new enchants … I could go on. Oh, and of course … Archaeology! And did I mention new fishing and cooking dailies?

Now, some of my friends and guildies will probably notice two things that I didn’t really mention, or only mentioned in passing … raiding and PvP.

Let’s cover PvP first … I love the fact that they’re bringing back the titles. I like the idea of rated battlegrounds. I will try some out for achievements and what-have-you. But let’s be honest here … it comes way after all of the other things I already talked about. Moving on.

Raiding. I’ve had a great time raiding in Wrath. There were a couple of months or more where I was in a raid literally 6 or 7 nights a week. I’ve been in a raid 4 to 5 nights a week since February. And this is while being in social guilds that raid, not even in a traditional raiding guild! Obviously, we’re on to something here … I like to raid. BUT … I didn’t mention it in the things I am looking forward to. Confusing, no?

Let’s look back at my history to explain the reasons behind this. When Wrath came out, I’d been playing for six months total. I was a complete huntard with little grouping experience and had only been to two raids in my life. Those two visits to Karazhan were magical. Now, after having been in an entire expansion from start to finish and having killed everything there was to kill (minus Yogg … f*ck Yogg) … I can look back and think “wow .. if Sunwell was to Kara as ICC is to Naxx … those guys must have been bored to have run Kara for a couple of noobs … and were probably laughing at my excitement and wonderment to actually be in a ‘real’ raid.” That feeling, the OMG I’M IN A RAID … now it’s just ‘meh, been there done that’ … yeah, maybe it’s just burnout and when new stuff comes out I’ll be looking forward to getting in there with my guilds and getting blown up by some bosses. But when new raids are announced … I don’t get all excited and can’t wait like when they announce new fishing dailies.

One more piece of my history that goes along with this … Wrath was out for almost a full year before I seriously began raiding. Yeah I did some once-a-week Naxx early in the expansion, but I mean *really* raiding. I had too much other stuff to do and see.

So, just a word of warning to my friends and guildies out there … I have nfc what I’m going to be doing in Cata. There are a bajillion things I want to do on a bajillion different toons, so I’m going to take it one hour at a time and just do what I feel like doing. The raids .. they aren’t going anywhere. I’ve always been more concerned with mounts and pets and achievements than having the highest gearscore. That won’t change. The raids will be there when I’m ready to see them.

Tags: , ,

14 Responses to “Plans for Cataclysm”

  1. Troutwort Says:

    At least real ID will help me keep track of you when you’re not online in Crits!

  2. Lore Says:

    Lies… you’ll get the raiding bug, just like everyone else… hehe

  3. repgrind Says:

    Eventually, sure. I didn’t say I don’t want to raid. I’m just not gonna run right out and level to 85 as fast as I can. there’s too much stuff to see! :p

  4. koalabear21 Says:

    I most likely will need to level my toon to 85 quickly, luckily I am not adverse to leveling new alts :D.

    The way I look at it is I have a lot of time to do everything. So bring it on! ^_^

  5. Hartbane Says:

    idc what you say.. if there is EVER a Deathwing mount.. I TOTALLY have dibs.. MINE! I’ll also rub it in your face for eternity.. I mean come on! Deathwing AND Onyxia… EPIC

  6. Lore Says:

    You dont even play anymore hart… *rolls eyes*

  7. repgrind Says:

    Hart … you can ride Karius when he learns to turn into a Sandstone Drake. Now THAT will be epic. ;)

  8. slice213 Says:

    totally agree. Play how you wanna play :)

    I will probably, err strike that…get my priest and pally to 85 asap.

    Then work on 2 worgens – 1 warrior and the other…more then likely a rogue!

  9. gromdred Says:

    A gnome shadow priest…. No mob would ever be able to see him :D Bless you my son, for you have sinned greatly by being 4 times taller than me :D :D

  10. gromdred Says:

    gromdred will be my first to 85. way too much time invested in him to not do it. Although it’s still possible after he gets there, that he will give up his violent ways and retire to a small abby somewhere quiet and hope his old friends will oneday visit him. But I don’t see any rush to 85. Last time I was one of the first to hit 80, and still couldn’t get invited to a raid for months. This time, there’s too much to see and I want to see it.
    Everyone knows that yes, I’ll raid when asked… Of course I will. but what I’ll really be waiting for is in a year or two, when the next expansion is due out anytime, and people are bored and (like us in ulduar) decide to go do some of the things they never did and then just maybe, I’ll be on at just the right time, get in to that one run that will happen, and finally get arthas down.
    A worgen in my future? who knows, we’ll have to see what happens

  11. repgrind Says:

    Ulduar. ugh … maybe someday. I forget what I was doing the night you guys finally got Yogg … healing ICC on my pally maybe? That’s what happens when you have multiple toons raiding … they can’t all be in more than one raid at the same time.

  12. gromdred Says:

    yeah, you were in another raid. I hope the changes make for some fun questing. My inability to down arthas has made raiding less than fun of late. I’m hoping that we can do some serious, fun questing together come cata :)

  13. repgrind Says:

    I’m pretty sure we can. The times you and I have quested together have been good times. You like to take your time and read quest text and stuff … not like some others *cough Lore cough* that I have quested with before.

  14. Gromdred Says:

    Oh, just cause he likes to blast through a zone with a freight train of pissed off mobs trailing behind him… :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

