Kingslayers!

Title says it all.

OMG that fight is not easy. We were there a couple of hours. We had some trouble getting first phase down because we tried a couple of different things from how they had done it before. Once we switched to the way most of them were used to doing it, we had no more problems with phase 1.

We only spread defile over the entire platform once. I think we only lost one person to val’kyr over the course of the night, too. I was impressed with everyone’s ability to focus. There was joking around, sure, but once we were hitting phase 2, vent cleared except for Cael calling things out.

That phase 3 … OMG, I don’t think there’s any way I could have survived this fight if I hadn’t respecced into blood. Don’t get me wrong, the healers did an awesome job … but the ability to pop vampiric blood and have 80k health to survive a Soul Reaper when the other tank is still busy with a Spirit is priceless. Somewhere in between wipes I swapped out the Glyph for the Black Heart, and wore that along with the Corroded Skeleton Key for as much health as I could get.

I got this one just as he hit 10%, before he killed everyone.

That third phase was crazy. You can see we tanks ended up with him in a corner over near the throne … I’m sure that worried the healers a little bit. I know Cael mentioned later that it freaked him out. But that was where I drug him to avoid a defile. Meh … we won. But damn … he’s tough.

I MISSED the cinematic. I was typing and somehow escaped out of it just as it was trying to start up. Oh well … there’s always the fountain in Dalaran.

Everyone put on their titles as soon as it was over, then there was some loot distribution or something  … wasn’t important. Then it was photo time.

And of course, more Kaly ‘n Chan time. ;)

Poor Bolvar .. talk about a fate worse than death … geez.

Once we got back to town … well ….

Perhaps it was somewhat dickish, but can you really blame us? We were all so excited and proud. There were a couple of people from hardcore raiding guilds making fun of us, but we didn’t care.

You know, I’m kinda glad now that Cael and I didn’t get it in that pug we went to. It was way beyond awesome to get it with a group of people that I know … to get it with friends. And geez, Cael got it with his family there! Does it get any more awesome than that?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 Responses to “Kingslayers!”

  1. Troutwort Says:

    Let them poke fun! If it makes them feel better about themselves, so be it. I can’t say how proud I am to see this happen. Really, sometimes I get a little weepy eyed for you all. You have all worked so hard, and worked so hard together to accomplish this, which I think is truely amazing.

  2. repgrind Says:

    Heh … I got weepy eyed again as I was posting this.

  3. gromdred Says:

    Again, Congratulations!!! I’m glad at least that I got to be the first one to say it in chat last night :)

  4. gromdred Says:

    and screw ‘em for poking fun… you got it, right?

  5. slice213 Says:

    GRATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. koalabear21 Says:

    Grats again! I am happy you waited to get it with your friends. It just makes the win that much sweeter!

    Grats again hun! Now get it on your mage :D

  7. Troutwort Says:

    I feel like August 30th now needs to be some sort of Crits and Giggles holiday.

  8. Fikkle Says:

    Congrats dude!

  9. Chandrilea Says:

    everyday is a c&g holiday. :)

  10. Hartbane Says:

    I would just like to say a couple things first: GRATS! :D glad you got it!
    and second: try tanking third phase as the ONLY tank, then see how far your vampiric blood gets you, no other tank to taunt off and save my ass… had to use every bit of pally tank ability that I had in order to stay alive and still keep the boss clear of defiles and everything.. was CRAAAZYYYY

  11. Gromdred Says:

    Hart, you’re so leet you dont even need and authenticator… Just tell blizz you’re way byond that! :)

  12. typhoonandrew Says:

    congratulations, probably one of my favourite boss kills in the game – across all expansions.

  13. Titles | Reputation Grind Says:

    [...] wears the Kingslayer because he was the first of my characters to kill the Lich King. That night is still the most memorable night in my entire WoW ‘career’. It was the end [...]

  14. Alt Week: DK | Reputation Grind Says:

    […] and still my best memory and most important event in my time in WoW, was tanking the guild’s first ever Lich King kill. He is and will forever be Kalyon the Kingslayer. I may be a healer now, but nothing will ever […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

