75K Health is Smexy

Minor post today, but I need to get it up while it’s fresh in my mind. Last night was the Apathy 25 man. We did a continuation from the week before, working on Putricide. We were short healers, and Lore suggested I get my pally but .. well, he’s got his own run to go to on Friday. Plus, you know … Marrowgar and the shield that doesn’t exist … so I made a counter suggestion that Hart switch to healing and I could come tank.  Can you believe they actually went for it? Haha! I dumped poor Karius so fast … heck, come to think of it, I never went back for him. He’ll be standing outside ICC when I log into him next, wondering what he did to be treated so poorly.

So, I got a chance to try my blood spec in 25 man. Quite different from those few heroics I ran. I wasn’t scrambling to find Howling Blast. For most of the trash packs, DnD and blood boil worked just fine with no issues at all. To be fair, the other tank was DW frost so I assume he was throwing his own HBs around but that’s kind of the point … in a raid, there will always be another tank throwing around their own AoE threat abilities. In the upcoming 10 man, it will be a pally with consecration and Hammer of Hitthreemobs and Shield of Heylookatank.

As far as the abilities, I used my trinket (Glyph of Indomitability) and Icebound Fort as I normally would. Vampiric Embrace … omg, throw that on with full 25 man buffs and the 30% buff and I’ve got 75k health. That’s enough to make my pally have wet dreams … takes more than two holy lights to fill that bar. Hitting Rune Tap gave me about a 15k heal … once every 30 seconds … the survivability is just plain crazy. I think I used Mark of Blood maybe once. I need to remember it more often.

I did get to try the abom twice. Not much but it was enough for me to know what the abilities are and get the hang of sucking up the slime. Nice to get some practice in on it. Plus, I got to see how to infuse my Shadow’s Edge for the quest. Of course, the one time I got enough energy to actually do it, I was so busy being excited over it that the next thing I heard over vent was “Kaly, slow the slime!” Umm … oops? >.>

No, we didn’t get him down. Why? I don’t know. If I was DPS maybe I could tell you, but I was kinda focused on what I was doing. The four hours flew by, and before I knew it we were calling the raid. It was a lot of fun to get to change roles for one night, and definitely got me excited about the 10 man. I’m keeping the blood spec, at least for now.  I exchanged my DPS rep ring for the tank one, and bought a Corroded Skeleton Key … although it may not be favorable over The Black Heart, depending on the situation.  I still have time to sell it back so I might not keep it.

Ok, back to work.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “75K Health is Smexy”

  1. Troutwort Says:

    I got a text from Karius today…something like:

    “frzing outside ICC, cant go on, no luv. gonna jump w/o slwofall”

  2. repgrind Says:

    Trout, I’m laughing so hard there are tears coming from my eyes. Nice one. :p

  3. Lore Says:

    So… now i know the real reason slimes didnt get slowed.. you were tryin to do your quest… Hmm…

  4. repgrind Says:

    It was only that once! And I still got it slowed … and I got all the other ones. I figure I didn’t do half bad for only getting to try it twice. :p

  5. Hartbane Says:

    eh half bad is still not enough good for me to count it :P
    I just kick ass at the abom and was tired of seeing green and no dps coming from the abom :P

  6. repgrind Says:

    I only got two tries, and no one gave me any instructions that involved dps .. I was told ‘spam 1 to eat up all the slime and hit 2 to slow the ooze’ .. that was it. If you want me to actually learn how to do it properly, you need to tell me exactly what you want me to do, and then give me a chance to do it.

  7. lagalot Says:

    The abomb’s abilities don’t share a gcd, so if slime is next to a monster, you can suck and beat the monster at the same time. Do you have a third stam trinket? Otherwise that’s a good pair to use together in 25 man.

  8. repgrind Says:

    Ooh, they don’t? That’s good to know. I’ll just have to beat Moe up and force him to let me try the abomb in 10 man.

    I have: Black Heart, Corroded Skeleton Key and one of the Brewfest thingies for stam trinkets.

    Glyph I guess would count as a mitigation trinket maybe? since armor is its equip stat. I’d been using that along with The Black Heart.

    I also have Ick’s Rotting Thumb in my bag.

    Yes, I do enjoy collecting trinkets. Why do you ask? :p

  9. Troutwort Says:

    When I used to play WoW with the kid I mentor, he called the abomination skin, “Angry Chef”. I ain’t eatin’ whatever he’s cookin’.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

