(Almost) Killing Dragons

Apathy took a break from ICC this week. In its place, we ran Naxx 25. They say we need it recorded as a guild for guild progression. Meh, I don’t honestly care *why* we did it … I love Naxx!

Imagine I took screenshots of every achievment … ok actually I did, but I was up far too late (reasons for that coming later in the post) so I didn’t send them all over. So just picture a lineup here of those little achievement panels … about 8 of them. One for each wing, one for Fall of Naxxramas, one for the 100 Club, one for Arachnophobia, one for Momma Said Knock You Out, one for … ok maybe it was exactly 8. I got the Heroic Key to the Focusing Iris! squee!!

The plan was to go on to OS3D, Ony, and EoE. Well, OS didn’t go so well, mainly because we didn’t have a full raid. This one try though … man, I should have screenshotted myself in the ice block as the only one alive, with the entire island covered in adds and Sarth with 59k health. WTB some spriests or DKs or afflocks … moar dots dammit! We’ll go back and get him later for sure.

So the raid ends, it’s midnight or so my time. I’m an hour ahead of server. I go with a guild group to tank a random and Cael whispers me … hey, wanna come to LK? We got Kingslayer last week and we’re going to kill him again this week. Uh …. I hem and haw and look at the clock and think “I’m a responsible adult and I have to work at 9am” … and then Demon Chick on the other shoulder is like “but you could go get carried by Scrubs instead of being a scrub and finally be a KINGSLAYER” … and I cracked under the pressure and said yes.

So I hurried us faster than I normally would through PoS and got us wiped on Tyrranus. Oops. But we finished the dungeon,  I switched back to Karius, got invited, and zoned into a run that was … 9/12? Damn. I guess I don’t just get a free ride to the King after all. I gotta work for it.

Free cheeves! Hey, maybe this isn’t so bad after all. I look around the group, and see all but 3 people are wearing Kingslayer. Well ok, one of those is Cael, and he has it on his lock. He’s tanking tonight though. One of the others … yeah, I look him up on Armory and he’s had the title for a month already. The other one is … me. Pressure? Nah …. well ok, yes. And then they announce “ok, we’re going to be doing Sindragosa on heroic.” !!!!!

They did things slightly different than I’ve done it before. See, we had no hunters. So we were free to all stack up in melee, like we do on Marrowgar. Oh, and on heroic … when you have Unchained Magic and blow up? You also blow up anyone within 20 yards of you, so … yeah. That leaves room outside for the two casters who get it to be away from everyone. We had the ‘X’ go to the back left, and the square go to the back right. Easy enough. Oh, and the blasts that you have to LoS during the air phase … those one shot anyone that’s not out of LoS … even tanks. Nasty.

Third phase, the first tomb went to the dragon’s head so the tanks could clear their stacks, the second went to the rear. Melee were assigned the to head tomb, ranged to the rear tomb … people with unchained magic could stay outside in the assigned spots and still be able to LoS their stacks of Mystic Buffet. Sounds easy enough.

It’s not. Before the fight, the RL passed out Lesser Flasks of Resistance. The other mage and I put up mage armor. A pally put up Frost Resist aura. We had Gift of the Wild. We were required to have 200+ frost resist.

Some tries sucked. One try …. we got down to like, I think 3%? It was sooooooooooooo close. I could have cried. We spent two hours on it, and got *that* damn  close to downing her. They plan to spend only one hour on it tonight and then just knock her off on regular and move on to the LK. Hmm … maybe tonight I’ll even say something on vent. What? I don’t know any of them and they’re all Kingslayers! Damn straight I hid in my shell and just typed little things like ‘ok’.

Can I take a nap now? No?? Dammit.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

