Patch Day Leads to SAN

A patch right after the Midsummel Fire Festival starts? Seriously Blizz, WTF are you thinking??  With the death of Karius’ ICC group, I had last night completely free to work on his holiday achievements … the final holiday he needs for the meta. I have raids the next three nights, so it was the one night that I knew I could make a huge dent in the list of flames to visit. I got zero of them done thanks to the server being down until very late. RAWR!

So, what do you do when you can’t get on your server? I knew before I left work that the maintenance was extended, and I had some shopping to do anyway (like, my dog would have gone hungry this morning if I didn’t go buy dog food) so I blew some time doing errands, getting a chocolate shake, and cruising Hertel. Get home and it’s extended some more.

Hm…maybe I’ll play Wizard101…grawr, it needs to be patched … wait, wait, wait … by the time the patch is done I’ve decided I don’t want to play it. Well, I’ve been meaning to check out DDO … start the download … estimated time, 2 hours 51 minutes …. le sigh. Play some Slingo, play some Racing Breed, watch some anime … FINALLY, well after 8pm, it will let me log in. Except, my server isn’t up. Try to log onto another server  I have toons on, and it won’t open the character select screen. Make a toon on some other server, it’s so crowded with naked level 1’s that I don’t even bother trying to do anything, and log back out.

Hm … Argent Dawn is up, isn’t there where the blogger guild is? I have two toons there … belf priest, tauren hunter … but the guild is Alliance. Well, golly darn, I’ll just have to make a new toon. Human paladin, go! Crap, all my names are taken. So I go to my standard naming method … roll the random name generator, and replace the first letter of a name that I like with a ‘K’. It still takes forever, with almost every name saying it is unavailable. Then one comes up … Klin. I’m like, yeah there’s no way this will work but it would be HILARIOUS. Oh crap, it worked. Do I delete and try again? Hellz no, if anyone mistakes me for Klinderas well … there are worse people to be confused with. And if he ever decides to play there and wants the name, it’s totally his.

So I do a /who abstract and check the list that comes up. I recognize Hairygiblets from a recent post over at LFM, so I whisper him and ask if this is the home of the blogger guild. BAM, just like that I’m in the guild. I immediately put my blog address in my guild note, hoping that will help people know who I am and not think I’m Klinderas. Then I take a look around and see who is who.

I have a whisper conversation with Giblets and discover that yes, he is indeed the same person I was guildmates with in Ashes of Tirisfal way back when. Krizzlybear is there on his shaman. Askevar is there leveling her DK. Cynwise stops in, too. Divergent and Consolidate from the aforementioned LFM come on and get their BWL continuation up and running. There were a ton of other people on, too, probably some that I’m forgetting but recognized. I got up to level 5 while chatting and just generally having a good time.  By the time I logged out of there and wandered over to the now-online Winterhoof, it was almost 11pm. haha.

Will I spend a lot of time there? Probably not. I have three 80’s and a very busy raid schedule where I’m at. Will I drop in to chat and hang out once in awhile? I intend to, but I won’t make any promises. Heck, I sent a level 80 DK to Arioch‘s server to visit, and made a DK over on Sam‘s server to hang out, and … yeah, see, it’s been so long since I logged in that my DK isn’t even in the guild anymore. Hehe. Oops. >.<  So … no guarantees, but I had a good time goofing around while I was there.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Patch Day Leads to SAN”

  1. Craig Says:

    Win night was win?

    At least now with RealID you don’t have to server hop to talk to so many people!

  2. repgrind Says:

    Hey you! It was totally awesome to see you last night in Crits!! Now if we could just get Phil to come back and visit … I’ll never forget that night in Thelsamar, jumping on the beds in the inn. xD

  3. Hairygiblets Says:

    Long time, no see! I’m surprised you remembered my characters after all this time. Only took me two years to get that hunter to 80 lol. Nice to see you around :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

