The Holy Experiment: UK 2 and 3

Saturday night I was finishing up the quests in Coldarra in anticipation of eventually running Nexus. I’m standing in the inn at Valiance Keep talking on the phone, when my buddy Beldren materializes in front of me. Like, whoa dude! Let’s run a dungeon.

We queue up and get UK with me healing and a druid tank. The tank had some problems holding aggro, and I don’t know enough about druid tanking to know why, but we wiped on the pull before Keleseth. I was doing much better on the healing than I had the first time I was in there, but when all four mobs are beating on four different people … yeah.

Bell goes to bed, the tank drops, we pick up a new healer and a new dps. Waitwut? A new healer? *sigh* Failtank … go! We got through the first boss and the next full hallway of trash before I remembered to put up Righteous Fury. Somewhere before the next boss, the healer left the group for no apparent reason. One of the dps says they can tank, so we requeue looking for a dps and I go back to healing. I don’t remember much about the rest of the run other than, we got through it and I did much better than I had the time before.

Last night, of course, was Classic Raid Night. I decided before the raid that I was tired of my prot spec and wanted to level faster, so I wiped it in favour of copying Grom’s ret spec. So of course, epic tank stuff dropped. Doh! I did get a super awesome perfect-for-a-holy-pally trinket though, Pendant of the Violet Eye.  Although stuff dies so fast to level 80s that the fights are mostly a joke, two people did manage to blow themselves up by moving during flame wreath. hehe!! Gotta love good old Aran. Oh, and I got the legendary Gorehowl for my shiny new ret spec.

So, after I finished gemming my new pants … oh snap! I forgot to tell you about the pants. Yeah, they’re cloth but they have three gorgeous yellow gem slots. So Kaly cut 3 brilliant sun crystals and 2 of them came out perfect! Yummy intellect. I have almost 13k mana unbuffed … I mean almost as in 12,957 or something, it’s that close.

So once the pants are done, I’m still hanging out in the Crits vent and Quest asks if I want to go do a dungeon. He hops on his level 70 frost DK and we queue up. UK again. Level 73 warrior tank, an unholy DK, and a huntard. Ok, this will be a true test of whether I have gotten the hang of this or not. Gear is no longer a question, I now have Divine Plea plus this Mp5 trinket to push when I need regen … I’ve got a rage tank who is surely going to rush right along (and she did) … let’s see what happens.

Ok, I think I can understand what Hart finds so great about this. You haven’t lived until you’ve had a tank down to 2% health and had a single Holy Light fill their bar back to full. She chain pulled the dragon room … I was practically squealing by the end …  I may have even yelled a Rotface-esque ‘wheeeeeeee’ at one point. On boss fights I beaconed myself, on trash I beaconed whichever dps happened to take damage, and I just healed the tank and let beacon and glyph of Holy Light take care of the rest. I remembered to use Divine Illumination … I tossed out a judgement when I could to proc Judgements of the Pure …  I forgot about my haste trinket but I did use the Pendant of the Violet Eye.

I still hate Ingvar. No LoS issues this time, but some idiot forgot to stop casting during Dreadful Roar … and to make matters worse, the tank was already low and I had just hit Divine Favor to make the Holy Light I was winding up a guaranteed crit … uh, oops? It’s just me and the unholy DK now. I bubble, beacon myself, and lay some heals down on him … getting close, Ingvar’s pretty low, toss out a judgement … phew. Tank cheers, I apologize for losing her, everyone gets rezzed, we all go home happy.

So, as bad as UK #1 was …. by UK #3 I have fully gone holy and there’s no looking back. I’ll burn through the questlog as ret, but when it’s time to dungeon and ultimately settle on a main spec …. ooh yeah, shower me with that spellpower plate.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Holy Experiment: UK 2 and 3”

  1. Kaif01 Says:

    “oh snap” ?

    Who let the 13 year old write on Karius’ blog?

  2. Gromdred Says:

    Lol! Sounds like fun :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

