OMG Val’anyr

There was a recent post over at World of Matticus titled The Val’anyr Curse, talking about the varied reactions a healer wielding this legendary item may receive when popping into a random pug. Most of them were  ‘oh we have an awesome healer we can pull the entire instance’ or something just as stupid.  I’d never even seen one of these beauties ingame, until yesterday morning …. here is my ‘ZOMG the pug healer has Val’anyr’ story.

I have a friend who has been gearing up his DK to learn to tank. Over the weekend he hit the defense cap, so we grouped up with a couple of friends to try out a heroic … but we couldn’t find a healer, so we went ahead and queued up for a random and crossed our fingers. Our dps consisted of a shadow priest and two mages, one of whom was trying out a new spec.

The dungeon pops and we zone in. UK, good, an easy one to start a tank on. Lajos is still getting spells on his action bars so we drop a table, a fish feast, buff, etc while we wait for him to be ready. The whole time I’m eyeing the holy paladin and just praying to the Light that he is a patient sort who isn’t going to just ninja drop as soon as we take more than 10 seconds to pull. As for skill … I didn’t even inspect his gear at this point, just took note of the T10 shoulders and the 41k mana he had after buffs and figured we were in good shape.

The first few pulls were a bit ugly. New tank + squishy clothies doing 3-5k dps = aggro all over the place. By the time we got to the dragon room, things were a bit more under control. Lajos and I sheeped both handlers on the final pull in there so the tank only had to deal with the dragon itself, no problem, and yay! CC!! *happy mage dance* At this point I whispered the paladin, and I wish I had screenshotted it. I told him “Thank you for being so patient with us. We are gearing up a new tank.” His reply? “It’s no problem. We all have to start somewhere.”

That nasty pull right before Prince Keleseth? Two sheep, two mobs, no problem. Seriously, we were having a blast. Keleseth himself was no issue at all. When the adds missed the Death and Decay, we got them with arcane explosion or flamestrike, and we were well protected by our bubbles.

After the fight, someone had to bio, so we were standing around and the thought hit me … waitwut? Bubbles?? The priest is shadow, why are we all bubbled?! So I took the time to actually inspect the paladin’s gear…and my jaw still hurts from it hitting the floor.

Obviously, this guy is capable of healing any current content. I would be more than a little bit surprised if he was there in UK for any reason other than to get his two frost badges. And yet, he calmly and professionally healed our group through a relatively slow crawl through the dungeon as we scaled back our dps and used CC to help our new tank get a proper introduction to tanking heroics.

So, my hat’s off to you, Dazarise of Cenarius. You are a shining example of what the paladin class stands for, and proof that there are indeed good people in this game. I salute you.

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “OMG Val’anyr”

  1. Lajos Says:

    Figures… I didn’t copy over the bubble screenshots, and you didn’t put any up!

  2. repgrind Says:

    Mine wasn’t very good, but I can edit it in tomorrow if you want. :p

  3. telanarra Says:

    congrats on having a smooth run and my hat’s off to the healer also. Is a rare pugger who is patient and not just in title

  4. DarthRegis Says:

    1) It’s nice to hear about runs where people aren’t elitists or douches. They seem more and more rare. (And you’d figure with all the blogging about it, they’re be less. Go figure.)

    2) No dancing pics? /sadface

  5. repgrind Says:

    I promise there will be dancing pics in tomorrow’s post. /nod

  6. DarthRegis Says:

    There better be! *shakes fist*

    BTW – I know “they’re be less” should have said “there would be”. Honest. I was just testing for Grammar Rangers.

  7. Lajos Says:

    Incidentally, when we were dealing with Kelseth’s adds, it was AE and Blizzard. Flame Strike is so 10-minutes-before-we-started that run!

  8. repgrind Says:

    Well, *I* was putting down a flame strike. =P

  9. Lajos Says:

    That’s why you were missing the adds on the outer edge, and Keleseth. :-P

  10. repgrind Says:

    I didn’t want to hog all of them for myself, I figured I’d leave something for you to do. :p
    Don’t worry about Keleseth, he ate plenty of arcane blasts.

  11. Lajos Says:

    You’re a giver.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

